National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bengaluru

NLSIU Bangalore was established in the year 1986 through a series of efforts by the Bar Council of India, Bangalore University, Government of Karnataka, The Karnataka Bar Council and Judiciary and is known to develop a new era of legal education in India.

NSLIU Bangalore is India's Best Law School and is currently ranked as Number 1 Law School in India. NLSIU Bangalore students have excelled in every field, whether its National or International Moots, debates, or other co-curricular activities. NLSIU Bangalore has one of the best libraries comprising around 50,000 Books, around 20,000 Journals and Subscriptions. They have the subscription of an online International database of like WESTLAW, JSTOR, KLUWERONLINE, SpringerLink, etc. which contains Articles, International Case Reporters, Statutes, and Articles from Law Reviews, creating a priceless pool of resources for a law student. Also, similar Indian databases, for example, MANUPATRA.COM, INDLAW.COM have been made available for the students.

The first batch of students were selected in the year 1988 through a National Entrance Test. Starting 2008, NLSIU Bangalore started admission based on the Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)- the first edition of which was conducted by NLSIU (being the first NLU) in 2008.

NLSIU, because of the excellence it offers in the field of legal education is also referred to as “Harvard of the East”.

NLSIU Bangalore Programs Offered:

Listed below are the programmes offered by NLSIU Bangalore

Undergraduate Level:

  • B.A, LL.B (Hons.)

Postgraduate Level:

  • LL.M (Master’s in Law)

NSLIU Bangalore BA LL. B

The duration of the course shall be for a period of Five Academic Years. Each academic year is divided into three “Trimesters” with an average of not less than 70 working days for each.

NSLIU BA LL.B Admission Procedure:

Admission to the B.A., LL.B. (Hons.) program at NLSIU is

purely on merit as assessed through the Common Law Admission Test (CLAT)

conducted by the CLAT Committee constituted for the purpose. CLAT is conducted

every year on rotation by the participating National Law Universities. 

NSLIU Bangalore BA LL.B Eligibility Criteria:

A candidate seeking admission to the B.A, LL.B (Hons.) program at NLSIU must meet in the following criteria

  • Have passed Class 12 or equivalent thereto, securing in the first attempt, not less than 50% (45% in case of SC/ST and persons with disability) in aggregate.

  • No age limit.


NSLIU BA LL.B seat Intake

Total seats available: 120

NSLIU BA LL.B Seat Reservation 



General Category


Scheduled Caste

18 (15%)

Scheduled Tribe

9 (7.5%)

State Quota
(for candidates who have studied for not less than ten years in a recognized educational institution in Karnataka)
General Category candidates who are 'Karnataka Students' shall benefit from a 5% concession on the General Merit cut-off score obtained in CLAT 2020.

30 (25%)

Note: Six (6) seats compnsmg 5% of the total seats shall be reserved horizontally for Persons with Disability.

 These * 02 seats (3% Horizontal Reservation) are reserved for the Specially Abled Persons (SAP)



Given below is the category-wise total fee for the BA LL.B program

  • General Category: Rs. 2, 62, 000/- p.a.

  • SC/ST Category: Rs. 2, 58, 875/- p.a.

  • Foreign Nationals: USD 10025 

Note: The fees/charges may be revised by the University, but the revised fees/charges will be applied prospectively.


NSLIU Bangalore LL.M Program

NLSIU Bangalore offers a One-Year LL.M. Degree program in two specializations:

  • Business Law 

  • Human Rights Law

 Note: Candidates have a choice to join either. However, the CLAT ranking is the determining factor. Once admitted to a preferred branch, the admission is final and is not open to change.

NSLIU Bangalore LL.M Eligibility Criteria

As per the CLAT 2015 common rule.

NSLIU Bangalore LL.M Seat Intake 

  • Total Seats: 50

    • Specialization-wise seat distribution 
  • Business Laws 35

  • Human Rights Laws 15


NLSIU Bangalore LL.M Seat Reservation

Given below in the category-wise seat reservation for the LL.M Program


Business seats (30)

Human Rights seats (20)

Scheduled Caste (15%)



Scheduled Tribe (7.5%)



General Category




NLSIU Bangalore LL.M fee structure 

Given below is the category-wise total fee for the LL.M program

· General Category – Rs. 1, 89,500/- p.a.

· SC / ST Category – Rs. 1, 86, 37500/- p.a.

· Foreign Nationals – USD 5,650

Note: The fees/charges may be revised by the University, but the revised fees/charges will be applied prospectively.


NLSIU Bangalore 2019 Cutoff 

Given below is the category wise cutoff for NLSIU Bangalore for 2019






Round 1





Round 2





Round 3





NLSIU Bangalore Placements 

Placements in both UG and PG courses are provided by NLSUI Bangalore. 

Top Law Firms

Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A. Shroff & Co.

AZB & Partners

Bhasin & Co.

Anand & Anand Advocates

Clifford Chance

Desai & Dewanji

DSK Legal

Dua Associates

KNM & Partners

Top Companies 

Bajaj Allianz

DLF Limited

Edelweiss Corporate

Exchange Credit Guarantee Corporation

Fox Mandal Little & Co.

HAL, Bangalore


Larsen & Tourbo Infrastructure

Legasis Service Pvt. Ltd.

MCX Stock Exchange Ltd

Microsoft Corporation

Pangea 3

Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd.


Reliance Power Ltd.

NLSIU Bangalore Placement Trend

The placement graph took a hike in the year 2019 as compared to 2018

Notable NLSIU Bengaluru Alumni

  • Mr. Justice Shekhar B. Saraf (1996)- Judge, Calcutta High Court

  • Mr. Justice C. Sarvanan (1994)- Judge, Madras High Court

  • Mr. Justice Sunil Dutt Yadav (1996)- Judge, Karnataka High Court

  • Mr. Vikramjit Banerjee (1997)- Additional Solicitor General

  • Mr. Sajan Poovayya – Additional Advocate General, Karnataka (youngest ever)

  • Mr. Dorj Odbayar- Chairman, Constitutional Court of Mongolia

Speak to Counsellor

Join the institute that produced 7/10 Top Ranks in CLAT 2019 & 47 Selections in NLSIU, Bangalore